More than we can ask or imagine!

 My prayer is that:

 

…Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen. (Ephesians 3:17-21)

In the book of Esther, the women who were to be presented to the king soaked in fragrant oils and underwent beauty treatments for a year in advance. I believe God is challenging His Bride to take 2009 to immerse ourselves in Christ’s love and to soak in His presence.

When we see the TV news coverage of terrorism, disasters, and wars, we are tempted to become anxious. I sometimes get that jittery “flight or fight” feeling. I have decided to fight! I can only fight the enemy of our souls by choosing to love, to pray, to sing songs of worship to Jesus, and to speak blessings over others. Then the anxiety just falls away because I have “soaked” in the oil of God’s presence.

Lord, let your children know the magnitude of the glorious hope we have in You. Let us become as little children, who don’t worry about the future because we know our Daddy and He holds our hand.

 

Ephesians 3:17-21 (New Living Translation)

7 Comments »

  1. Mildred said

    Very encouraging words to start the New Year.

  2. Miss Linda said

    Hello! I came over from Mildred’s (Nalley Valley) blog. You have a wonderful blog, I just love your blog template. I started my blog in October, and it has been a remarkable blessing. I have met some very special friends (Mildred is at the very top of that list!) and the entire blogging experience has been so very rewarding. I hope you will find it just as rewarding!

  3. lilyvalley said

    Thanks to Miss Linda for your encouragement. I enjoy your blog as well.

  4. Susan said

    I found your spot thru NalleyValley. Esther is one of my favorite books in the Bible. It shows how God can use one person to save a nation. Thanks for that reminder. Blessings to you, Susan

    • lilyvalley said

      Susan, Thank you so much for your comment. I love the book of Esther, too. God bless you. Karen

  5. KathyB. said

    What wonderful and wise words to start your blog. Also, they are uplifting words of blessings and thankfulness. Mildred is indeed so blessed to have you as her older sister, and you her as your ‘baby’ sister! Even better, you will be together in eternity.

  6. Lanny said

    Your words are a blessing to me today. I am finding so much inspiration on the different blogs these last few days. Yours has topped the list, and I have added your idea of a “beauty treatment” to my resolution list. Thank you again.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

