Psalms and hymns

 

 Let the message about Christ, in all its richness, fill your lives. Teach and counsel each other with all the wisdom he gives. Sing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs to God with thankful hearts.

Colossians 3:16 NLT

I love the old hymns and like the new contemporary worship songs, too.  One of my favorite memories is of Mother and me harmonizing on old hymns as we washed the supper dishes.  Some of our favorites were In the Sweet By and By, What a Friend We Have in Jesus, and Oh, How I Love Jesus Because He First Loved Me.

I heard a choir director say, “There is an neverending song of praise rising up to God in Heaven.  We can choose to join in.”

You never saw Him, yet you love Him. You still don’t see Him; yet you trust Him with laughter and singing. 1 Peter 1:7-8

There is a name I love to hear.  I love to sinig its worth.

It sounds like music in my ear, the sweetest name on earth! 

3 Comments »

  1. Mildred said

    Good Morning, As so often happens when I google the lyrics to an old hymn, I find a verse I am not familiar with. That just happened with Oh, How I Love Jesus:
    “It tells me, in a still small voice, to trust and never fear.”

  2. Miss Linda said

    What a wonderful mental image, you and your mother singing hymns while cleaning the kitchen!

  3. Lana said

    Hi, and welcome to the blogging world. I just came over from Mildred’s blog. I really enjoyed reading about y’all harmonizing. That’s what my family did, too. Such a wonderful memory.

    All the best,
    Lana

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

