How Firm a Foundation

Therefore thus says the Lord God, Behold, I am laying in Zion for a foundation a Stone, a tested Stone, a precious Cornerstone of sure foundation; he who believes (trusts in, relies on, and adheres to that Stone) will not be ashamed or give way or hasten away [in sudden panic]. Isaiah 28:16

The foundation on which we stand was declared to be safe by God Himself.  Jesus was tested and tried as He went to work every day as a carpenter, as He ministered to people on the dusty roads of Galilee, as He prayed for us in the Garden of Gethsemane, as he endured an illegal trial, as He was betrayed and rejected by those He loved, as He bore our stripes, and as He died in our place. This foundation will stand strong during the shaking that is coming. It will also be sufficient to hold the millions of people who are soon coming into the family of God, and it will hold up for the dance party that follows.

How Firm A Foundation

How firm a foundation, ye saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in His excellent word!
What more can He say than to you He hath said—
To you who for refuge to Jesus have fled?

“Fear not, I am with thee, oh, be not dismayed,
For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by My gracious, omnipotent hand.

“When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow;
For I will be with thee thy trouble to bless,
And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

“When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
My grace, all-sufficient, shall be thy supply;
The flame shall not harm thee; I only design
Thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.

“The soul that on Jesus doth lean for repose,
I will not, I will not, desert to his foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.”

Written by John Keith (Published, 1787)

Here is a beautiful piano solo of this hymn with nature scenes you might enjoy:

2 Comments »

  1. Mildred said

    Hi Karen, It’s amazing to me that when I look at the words to music I have sung/played all my life, how meaningful the words are. Maybe it is just that the older I get the more meaning the words take on. Thanks for sharing today.

  2. Lanny said

    That was very good, just what I needed on a late night. I’ve been avoiding reading blogs last couple of days. Try a few then get discouraged. I shouldn’t have made that choice. I would have found this sooner. Thank you.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

