Father’s Song

For the Lord your God is living among you.
He is a mighty savior.
He will take delight in you with gladness.
With His love He will calm all your fears.
He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.

Zephaniah 3:17

When I was a child, my Mother rarely talked about her childhood or the fact that she was an orphan. As I spent time with her this past summer, though, she told me stories I had never heard. She said that when she and her Mother were hospitalized for tuberculosis, TB patients were treated like AIDS patients would be today. People were afraid to be around them. She said that there was a couple who came every Sunday evening to sing songs, play games, and teach Bible verses to the children at Battle Hill in Atlanta. She could still quote verses and sing songs that they taught her, and she remembered how she had looked forward to their visits. She said, “I didn’t realize until later that they risked their own health to visit with me.” I would say that God used that couple to sing the “Father’s song” over my Mother at a time when she really needed to hear it.

Father’s Song
by Matt Redman

I have heard so many songs
Listened to a thousand tongues
But there is one
That sounds above them all
The Fathers song
The Fathers love
You sung it over me and for eternity
Its written on my heart

Heavens perfect melody
The Creators symphony
You are singing over me
The Fathers song
Heavens perfect mystery
The king of love has sent for me
And now you’re singing over me
The Fathers song

2 Comments »

  1. ldh said

    How precious your mom was able to share stories about herself with you and what a precious example of the Father’s Song.

  2. Susie said

    Praise God for angels on earth. How fortunate for your mom that God provided a loving couple to care for her and her mom.

    Thanks for your visit and sweet comments on my blog Karen.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

