Promised Land

Why does our “promised land” have to be on the other side of a ravine, a raging river, a desert, or in the hill country? Why does God allow us to go through fearful situations? As I get older, I look back at the hard times and realize that I grew closer to God during the tough spots, because He proved that He was faithful in the times where I was helplessly dependent on Him.

Sometimes I find myself afraid of changes as if I think the future is all up to me! In the story in Numbers 14, Caleb never said that he wasn’t afraid of the giants that he saw when he spied out the promised land, or that he could take them on in his own strength. God, Himself, said of Caleb that he followed Him fully. He put his life completely in the Lord’s hands. He determined to serve no other god.

When I run out of money, ideas, strength, and abilities, and there is no back-up plan, I’m not in a bad place. I’m in a good place. For most of my life, I liked to think that I was in control. I thought that if I prayed enough, went to church enough, “kept the peace” enough, everything would work out to suit me. But when I got divorced, went through the illnesses and deaths of family members, and became an empty-nester, I had to admit: I’m definitely not in control.

The real shame would be to have experienced all life’s hurdles and never come to understand that Jesus is all I need. He’s more than enough!

I love the picture in Song of Solomon of the bride:
“Who is this coming up out of the desert leaning on her lover?”
At times, God lets us go through a desert, a time of need, hurt,
or grief so we can see that His strength is made perfect in our weakness. “He gives power to the faint and weary and to him who has no might, He increases strength.” Isaiah 40:29

But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me! 2 Corinthians 12:9 Amplified

Could it be that His sustaining presence through the journey is the “main thing”? I think of these words in Genesis 15:1. God had called Abram to leave all and journey to his promised land. Was Abram’s reward only cattle and sheep and real estate? Or was it far more? “After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward.”

“Just think! You don’t need a thing. You’ve got it all….He will never give up on you. Never forget that.” 1 Corinthians 1:7 The Message


Karen
https://lilyvalley.wordpress.com/

2 Comments »

  1. Lanny said

    Your post reminded me of a song that my husband spoke of just the other day, Third Day’s “Mountain of God”

  2. lilyvalley said

    Thank you, Lanny, for introducing me to Third Days’ song: Mountain of God. We must go throught the valley to get to the mountain of God. Beautiful.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

