Praying For Our Loved Ones

This is a testimony from intercessors Eddie and Alice Smith regarding praying for our children:

One day I was praying one of those oft repeated parental prayers for one of our sons….something like, “Oh God, fix my son. He’s into this, and into that. He needs this, and he needs that. God, how long must I pray before you move in his life?”

With that the Holy Spirit abruptly interrupted me. He said, “Eddie, that’s not prayer. You’re slandering me.”

Shocked and befuddled, I said, “Slandering you, Lord? What do you mean, I’m slandering you? You know I’d never do that.”

God continued, “Alright, allow me to interpret what you just prayed. First, you obviously think that you know your son’s needs, and although I created him, I don’t.

Secondly, it sounds as if you feel that you love your son, but I don’t.

Finally, you seem to be suggesting that if you were me, you’d already have done something, and I haven’t. Doesn’t that about cover it?”

I had to admit that he was right. After all, he’s God! But I was at a loss as to what I should pray. So, I waited.

After an uncomfortable moment or two I heard prayer coming from my heart to his. It was unlike any I’d ever prayed before. It sounded like this.

“Father, I thank you for loving me and for hearing my prayers. I praise you for the plan and purpose you have for my son–for you wrote the days of his life in your book before he was even born.

I’m grateful to know that your plans are perfect, and your purposes never change. Thank you for assuring me in Philippians 1:6 that what you have begun in his life you will finish.

Thank you for changing his schedule, and bringing people into his life that he never expected to meet. Thank you for reminding him of things Alice and I have taught him since he was a small child…”

From that moment Alice and I began praying a new way for our children.

Six months later our son called Alice and said, “Mother, I know you and Dad have prayed for me all my life. But you’ve changed the way you pray for me haven’t you?”

She said, “Yes, Son, we have.”

He continued, “It’s been about six months hasn’t it?”

She acknowledged that it had been exactly six months. “But how do you know that?” she asked.

“Mother until six months ago, I’ve felt confused in my mind and condemned in my heart. But for the past six months I’ve felt clear-minded and drawn to God.”

I think the passage below backs up Eddie’s testimony.
Job 22:21-30 (Amplified Bible)
21Acquaint now yourself with Him [agree with God and show yourself to be conformed to His will] and be at peace; by that [you shall prosper and great] good shall come to you.

22Receive, I pray you, the law and instruction from His mouth and lay up His words in your heart.

23If you return to the Almighty [and submit and humble yourself before Him], you will be built up; if you put away unrighteousness far from your tents,

24If you lay gold in the dust, and the gold of Ophir among the stones of the brook [considering them of little worth],

25And make the Almighty your gold and [the Lord] your precious silver treasure,

26Then you will have delight in the Almighty, and you will lift up your face to God.

27You will make your prayer to Him, and He will hear you, and you will pay your vows.

28You shall also decide and decree a thing, and it shall be established for you; and the light [of God’s favor] shall shine upon your ways.

29When they make [you] low, you will say, [There is] a lifting up; and the humble person He lifts up and saves.

30He will even deliver the one [for whom you intercede] who is not innocent; yes, he will be delivered through the cleanness of your hands.

Recently, God has been showing me that if my desire is something that I KNOW is God’s will, I do not have to beg and plead with God. I can decree and declare a thing. I can speak God’s Word over my loved ones believing that what God has willed, He has the power to bring to pass. I pray passages, such as, Ephesians 1:17-21, putting my loved one’s name into the passage and declaring the fufillment of God’s word in his/her life. Praise God! I have been seeing results as God works not only in others, but in my own heart as well.

I have had people to forgive me for my wrongs, seen broken relationships restored, and doors miraculously opened. He is a faithful God!

1 Comment »

  1. Lanny said

    UmHm very good. Amen! I know as a parent I don’t particularly appreciate my children’s whining especially the older they get and the more they know who I am.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

