Postcard from Heaven

Hi Mom!

Having a great time. Wish you were here. I had a safe trip. When I got here, everybody knew my name. Just the moment you were saying, “He’s gone,” a shout went up in Heaven: “Caleb’s here!” No pain, no crying, no more sickness. I never felt better in my life! I’m completely satisfied.

Mom, I wish you could hear the singing and all the musical instruments. I can play them all! And the dancing! People are here from every tribe and nation, and all of us “special ones” are right up front.

The weather here is beautiful, and it’s light here all the time, but there is no light from the sun. Jesus Himself is the light of the city. No matter what you have heard, there are no words to describe His beauty.

Do you remember those long nights when I could not sleep? I liked for you to turn on the peppy praise music and dance with me in your arms. Do you remember my favorite Gary Oliver song? “I’m gonna know how He brought me over. I’m gonna know how He brought me through. I’m gonna sing and shout forever. How about you?” I can hear you singing, Mom. Sing your heart out to the Lord. He is worthy. And never stop dancing!

Mom! God has so much in store for you. Your place is set at the table here. I’ll see you again soon.

Love forever,
Caleb

Caleb’s Story

When our fourth child was born, we had not chosen a name. But when I looked at him, God seemed to whisper, “Caleb”. The first thing I said was, “He doesn’t look like our other babies.” He was so still and quiet, with his arms and legs outstretched, his hands and feet dark blue.

“He is floppy,” was the nurse’s comment. Hours later, the pediatrician told us, “Caleb has Down syndrome and very serious heart defects.” To everyone’s amazement, that little heart “murmured” for forty months.

Caleb’s life was such an inspiration to so many people. He had a contagious chuckle that no one could resist. He loved to be in church and to clap and “sing” and bounce on his bottom during the worship music. When the choir would sing, “Thanks, Thanks, I give You thanks for all You’ve Done”, Caleb would echo, “Thanks!”

At age three years, the doctors realized that his lungs and heart were too weak to attempt surgery. A wonderful Hospice team was there for us through the last days.

Just before he went into a coma, I felt the Holy Spirit urging me to dedicate Caleb to God. As I knelt beside him to pray, I began to smell the most wonderful perfume. And I envisioned Caleb in the arms of Jesus. They were dancing.

Caleb was an awesome blessing to our family. My other children, now adults, are richer in the things that really matter because of loving him. Oh, Lord, I give You thanks.

Cradled in His Hands: in memory of Caleb
Written by his brother, Cameron Hill

You came into this world
Knowing that you would bear affliction
Leaving behind all peace and perfection
But caught up in the glory of your Father’s plan

You came broken and dependent
Not knowing how you would be received
Yet loving us unconditionally
And though one day you would die,
Death could not quench your life

Until the day we meet again
In heavens courts where we will stand
Surrounded by such a cloud of witnesses
Thank you for the life that you gave
Greater love has no one than this
Than to lay down ones life for his friends
And what love you must have had
I know Jesus had you cradled in His hands

The strength of your little heart
Though it was weak was strong to sing
Beating to the rhythm of heaven’s melodies
And every day you were singing a new song

And now I can imagine the voice you must have
Praising your Savior, worshiping the Lamb
I can hear you singing the greatest song
But soon one day we will be singing along

9 Comments »

  1. Mildred said

    We are all richer for having Caleb in our lives. I still see his little hands clapping to the music and he would love this song by his big brother. This Valentine’s Day, Caleb is joined by MawMaw – what a peaceful thought. Love you sister, Mildred

  2. lilyvalley said

    Thank you. That is very comforting. Love, Karen

  3. Lana said

    Oh Karen, what a poignant story. I’m so sorry you’ve experienced such a painful loss in your life. Your sweet little Caleb will be in your welcome committee when you join him in Heaven. And what a blessing he was to the couple you told us about in a previous post.

    Mercy, peace and love to you, Lana

  4. ldh said

    Dear Karen, Thank you for sharing Caleb’s story and the sweet poem by his brother. Perhaps I also will have the blessing of meeting your Caleb in heaven.

    Sending wishes for a Happy Valentine’s Day to you.

    Kindly, ldh

  5. lilyvalley said

    Thank you so much to everyone who reads Lily
    Valley. God has blessed me with many new friends.
    Karen

  6. Tara said

    Karen,
    I am so blessed to have met you through LDH. God is so good. He knows just what we need and when we need it. As you could tell from my blog, I am new to the blogging world, but am so glad I took the plunge. God has connected me with so many precious ladies, each with their own story or testimony. I am so sorry for your loss of Caleb. I can’t even imagine how that would possibly feel. My brother died in his sleep at the age of 8 and I still feel that loss for him. I was only 2 weeks old. My mother talks about dancing with him in heaven one day too. I know that will be a glorious day for us all. Have a blessed Sunday.

    • lilyvalley said

      Tara, Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you started blogging, too. I have only been blogging since January 09.
      Karen

  7. Hey Karen,

    I feel for your loss, but believe that you also have a great strength from having known and loved Caleb.

    My son’s heart wasn’t as strong as Caleb’s so we only had him share in our lives for 14 weeks, but nineteen yaers later he is still a very large influence in everything I do.

    • lilyvalley said

      Penny, Thank you for your comment. I understand what you mean about your son’s wonderful influence on your life.
      God bless you, Karen

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

