God of the Valley

In 1995, when I was dealing with a lot of heartache at once, my son’s terminal illness, divorce, and no job, the verse, “The name of the Lord is a strong tower. The righteous run into it and they are safe,” struck a chord with me. I was familiar with the covenant names: Jehovah Nissi, The Lord is our banner, and Jehovah Jireh, Our provider, Jehovah Shalom, our peace, and others, but I kept feeling that there were nine covenant names and I only had eight. God put it on someone’s heart to give me Kay Arthur’s book, Lord, I Want to Know You. There I read the ninth name: Jehovah Sabaoth, Captain of the Lord’s Hosts (mentioned in 1 Samuel 17). God is the one who fights for us in our battles! This gave me great assurance that God was with me and for me in this valley.

My favorite Bible story as a child was from 1 Samuel 17, David and Goliath. I made Daddy read it again and again. Now, years later, I am still seeing ways to apply the truths of that story in my life. The valley where Goliath stood to taunt God’s people belonged not to the Philistines, but to the tribe of Judah (which means PRAISE).

Goliath stood in a valley that belonged to the children of God, and day after day and he denied the power of God. Morning and evening the enemy filled the minds of the Israelites with his accusations, curses, and threats. “If you can send a man who defeats me, this valley will be yours and we will be your servants. But if I defeat you, this valley belongs to me and you must serve us.”

Only young David had the confidence in the living God to face the giant. David essentially became the winner when he made this proclamation recorded in 1 Samuel 17:45. David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with a dagger, spear, and sword, but I come against you in the name of the LORD of Hosts, the God of Israel’s armies— you have defied Him. 47 and this whole assembly will know that it is not by sword or by spear that the LORD saves, for the battle is the LORD’s. He will hand you over to us.”

As Christians, we are not promised that we will never experience troubles, sickness and heartache. But we can shout the enemy down by praising our God even in the valley.

Because of Your adversaries,
You have established a stronghold [of praise]
from the mouths of children and nursing infants,
to silence the enemy and the avenger. Ps. 8:2

3 Comments »

  1. Lanny said

    I am glad God fights my battles and not me or a “hired gun.”

  2. nell jean said

    Hi, I’ve been following your blog since shortly after I found your sister’s site. You are both delightful to read.

  3. Devoted said

    Wow! God is so good! I was planning to post “the rest of the story” beginning with verse 45 tomorrow. It never ceases to amaze me how God works among His people1

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

